US President Biden invites 40 world leaders to Leaders Summit on Climate

President Biden has today [26 March 2021] invited 40 world leaders, including Russian President Vladimir Putin and Chinese President Xi Jinping, to the Leaders Summit on Climate he intends to host on 22 and 23 April 2021, and which will be live streamed for public viewing.

The White House press release states that “In recent years, scientists have underscored the need to limit planetary warming to 1.5 degrees Celsius in order to stave off the worst impacts of climate change. A key goal of both the Leaders Summit and COP26 [in November in Glasgow] will be to catalyze efforts that keep that 1.5-degree goal within reach.  The Summit will also highlight examples of how enhanced climate ambition will create good paying jobs, advance innovative technologies, and help vulnerable countries adapt to climate impacts.” [h&t emphasis added]

The White House press release explains that the “summit will reconvene the U.S.-led Major Economies Forum on Energy and Climate, which brings together 17 countries responsible for approximately 80 percent of global emissions and global GDP.  The President also invited the heads of other countries that are demonstrating strong climate leadership, are especially vulnerable to climate impacts, or are charting innovative pathways to a net-zero economy.”

Read the full text of the US President’s media release President Biden Invites 40 World Leaders to Leaders Summit on Climate (issued 26 March 2021) (external link to White House website)

The following leaders have been invited to participate in the Summit:

InviteeCountry/OrganisationRegion (UN geoscheme)
Prime Minister Gaston BrowneAntigua and BarbudaLatin America & Caribbean
President Alberto FernandezArgentina Latin America & Caribbean
Prime Minister Scott MorrisonAustraliaOceania
Prime Minister Sheikh HasinaBangladeshSouthern Asia
Prime Minister Lotay TsheringBhutanSouthern Asia
President Jair BolsonaroBrazil Latin America & Caribbean
Prime Minister Justin TrudeauCanada Northern America
President Sebastián PiñeraChile Latin America & Caribbean
President Iván Duque MárquezColombia Latin America & Caribbean
President Félix TshisekediDemocratic Republic of the CongoSub-Saharan Africa
Prime Minister Mette FrederiksenDenmark Europe
President Ursula von der LeyenEuropean CommissionEurope
President Charles MichelEuropean CouncilEurope
President Emmanuel MacronFranceEurope
President Ali Bongo OndimbaGabonSub-Saharan Africa
Chancellor Angela MerkelGermany Europe
Prime Minister Narendra ModiIndiaSouthern Asia
President Joko WidodoIndonesia South-eastern Asia
Prime Minister Benjamin NetanyahuIsraelWestern Asia
Prime Minister Mario DraghiItalyEurope
Prime Minister Andrew HolnessJamaicaLatin America & Caribbean
Prime Minister Yoshihide SugaJapanEastern Asia
President Uhuru KenyattaKenyaSub-Saharan Africa
King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al SaudKingdom of Saudi ArabiaWestern Asia
President Andrés Manuel López ObradorMexico Latin America & Caribbean
Prime Minister Jacinda ArdernNew ZealandOceania
President Muhammadu BuhariNigeriaSub-Saharan Africa
Prime Minister Erna SolbergNorwayEurope
President Xi JinpingPeople’s Republic of China Eastern Asia
President Andrzej DudaPolandEurope
President Moon Jae-inRepublic of KoreaEastern Asia
President David KabuaRepublic of the Marshall IslandsOceania
Prime Minister Lee Hsien LoongSingaporeSouth-eastern Asia
President Matamela Cyril RamaphosaSouth Africa Sub-Saharan Africa
Prime Minister Pedro SánchezSpainEurope
President Vladimir PutinThe Russian FederationNorthern Asia
President Recep Tayyip ErdoğanTurkeyWestern Asia
President Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al NahyanUnited Arab EmiratesWestern Asia
Prime Minister Boris JohnsonUnited KingdomEurope
President Nguyễn Phú TrọngVietnam South-eastern Asia

Note: The 17 major economies that comprise the Major Economies Forum on Energy and Climate are: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, the European Union, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Denmark, in its capacity as the President of the December 2009 Conference of the Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change, and the United Nations have also participated in this dialogue along with Observers.

Image: Déjà vu? Leaders Climate Summit 2015, with then United States Vice President Joe Biden. Original image at